About the Department

  The Department of English Language and Literature is one of the oldest departments of the Faculty of Letters at Istanbul University. It was founded under the guidance of the illustrious Erich Auerbach and Halide Edip Adıvar at the end of the 1930s as the first Department of English Philology in Turkey so that contribution may be made to increase the interaction between Turkish culture and English literature. The distinguished first generation academics Vahit Turhan, Mina Urgan, Berna Moran, Sencer Tonguç, Özcan Başkan, Cevat Çapan and Akşit Göktürk as well as Lale Akalın, İnci Birdal, Murat Belge, Oya Berk, Nebile Direkçigil, Zeynep Ergun ve Nural Yasin are all former members of the Department. The Department offers undergraduate, M.A. and Ph.D. programmes that cover a wide range of areas in English literature as well as literary and cultural theory. The official language of the Department is English; subsequently it is the designated language of all courses, postgraduate mentoring and academic writing. The Department has hosted The Akşit Göktürk Conference (IAGC) on literature and criticism annually since 1999 to commemorate Akşit Göktürk, our beloved professor who taught in the Department from 1962 to his untimely death in 1988. The conference, held internationally since 2010, has been suspended in recent years due to difficulties in securing a venue.